Protesting in South Korea

If you’ve kept up with Korean politics lately you will know that things have been a bit crazy lately. ┬áKorea’s President Park Geun-Hye was recently impeached following a major scandal which involved her leaking classified information to a lady who has cult ties. The story itself is pretty out there but ever since news of it broke there have been weekly protests in Seoul calling for President Park’s impeachment.

After seeing some photos of a friend who had gone to see one of these protests I decided it was something I would like to see. I had no idea of what to expect and to be honest I was a little scared. The weekend that I went (a few weeks before the President was actually impeached) the news reported there were about 1 million Koreans in attendance. It was insane, huge streets that are normally filled with cars, taxis and buses were shut down for protest marchers. Despite the high turnout of people, the protest was pretty calm…that’s not quite the right word. I guess I went into expecting to feel a lot of tension and aggression from the people in attendance and I didn’t see any of that. Most people walked around with lit candles and signs and there were various stages setup with different things going on ranging from bands to shouting people.

It was an interesting experience to say the least and I’m glad I went. In Korean history this is definitely a defining moment and I’m glad to say I got to be there in the midst of it and feel the energy of the people.

Leave a Reply

