Hong Kong for a Weekend

I went to Hong Kong for a quick weekend to visit a friend and it was amazing! Hong Kong was actually the first place I visited outside of Korea during my second contract and it was a good way for me to get back into the groove of traveling.

Since I was only there for a weekend I was limited on what I could see but I still loved the city and wouldn’t be against another visit in the future.

First up was the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery where yes, they have ten thousand buddhas. I mean, I can’t say I personally counted all of them but I would say that it’s highly likely there are 10,000. This was amazing…there is a path that you walk up a hill and see different buddhas in different positions. Once you get to the top, there are many buddhas within the monastery itself. I have to put out a disclaimer though for those who are prone to getting lost (such as myself) that you should look for the sign that says where the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery is and then follow it. There is a buddhist cemetery right next door and you could end up walking up quite a few stairs and not getting to the monastery. But, if you do I’m sure the resident monkeys will be of some entertainment, so it won’t be a waste of time.

Another place I visited while in Hong Kong was the Nan Lian Garden. Even in the rain the garden was beautiful and I would highly recommend a visit.

And to end the day in Hong Kong I went out with some friends in Lan Kwai Fong. It was filled with bars and some restaurants and was pretty foreigner heavy.

After a busy day and night out in Hong Kong I would need to rest up as much as I could because even though I only had 2 days in Hong Kong I decided that one day would be set aside for….Hong Kong Disneyland!! You can read up on my time at HK Disneyland here.

One thought on “Hong Kong for a Weekend

Leave a Reply

