My #1 Favorite Bar in Korea!

For the second time I am making this proclamation! You can read about my now second favorite small bar chain in Korea, Bongu Beer, here. But, at least for the time being, my favorite small bar chain in Korea is Sangoo Beer. Oh, how I love this small bar. To be honest it is set up in a really similar manner to other small chain bars in Korea. The restaurants are usually smaller and have around 10ish tables.

Interior of Sangoo Beer in Gimpo

Interior of Sangoo Beer in Gimpo

Another view of the Sangoo Beer in Gimpo

Another view of the Sangoo Beer in Gimpo

Most of these bars will serve you with some kind of a free snack that ranges from rectangle crackers (taste like animal crackers), popcorn or pretzels. My local Sangoo Beer serves popcorn, not a bad free starter.

Free popcorn tastes better

Free popcorn tastes better

The alcohol offerings at Sangoo are pretty standard for Korean bars, they have some imported beers or you can get cream beer on tap. My favorite drink of choice is the grapefruit beer, I’ve had it at other bars but I have to say my favorite is at Sangoo Beer.

Grapefruit beer, draft cream beer with some grapefruit concentrate added in...garnished with a grapefruit slice

Grapefruit beer, draft cream beer with some grapefruit concentrate added in…garnished with a grapefruit slice

And, now to what is in my opinion the most important part of the bar experience, BAR FOOD. This is what makes Sangoo Beer my favorite, their great selection of bar food! Everything I have tried there has been great…the french fries, the odeng (fish cake soup), fried shrimp, they even have these really great loaded potatoes that are basically potatoes cut in half with cheese and onions on top. Its been my mission lately to try all of their food and I have to say pretty much everything is yummy.

French fries come with a little bit of lettuce and cheese sauce? Anyways the fries underneath are tasty and come with a side of garlic mayo and chili sauce.

French fries come with a little bit of lettuce and cheese sauce? Anyways the fries underneath are tasty and come with a side of garlic mayo and chili sauce.

Odeng tang, fish cake soup, trust me its better then it sounds and quite delicious

Odeng tang, fish cake soup, trust me its better then it sounds and quite delicious

And if you go to a restaurant or bar frequently enough they will usually start giving you free stuff, in this instance peaches and blueberries

And if you go to a restaurant or bar frequently enough they will usually start giving you free stuff, in this instance peaches and blueberries

So…I have to say I really do enjoy my visits to Sangoo Beer. But for me its mostly just a fun place to hang out and complain about the work week with friends.

One thought on “My #1 Favorite Bar in Korea!

Leave a Reply

