Story Time…the Time my Toilet Broke…

It’s been a while since I told a random story of something that might be everyday in the States happening to me in Korea and the fun times that ensued afterwards. If you want to read about the time Josh and my So about a week and a half ago I came to the conclusion that my toilet was leaking. It took me a while to put two and two together since I have a wet bathroom (no separate shower) and about 30% of the time my floor is wet anyways from showers. Once I realized this my bosses at the school called the building owner who eventually came out and we had some awkward times with me trying to explain to her in my broken Korean what the problem was. Luckily my bosses are great and were able to talk to her for me when we reached a standstill on communication. Once she realized what the problem was she called in a repairman.

The repairman was awesome, he spoke a little English and after inspecting the toilet and not finding anything wrong he screamed “HELP ME” to me so that I could come point at where the leak was. After this he went to work on fixing the toilet…and then after another “HELP ME” to get me to inspect his work he took out my apartment’s extra fridge and was on his merry way. I was under the impression that he spoke little to no English since he only really screamed “HELP ME,” but after the toilet was fixed he asked me in almost perfect English where I was from and if there were many engineers in California.

So...I guess this means the toilet leak was fixed!

So…I guess this means the toilet leak was fixed!

Boom, gone with the bane of my existence....the extra fridge that had no purpose but to annoy me and take up space is now gone!

Boom, gone with the bane of my existence….the extra fridge that had no purpose but to annoy me and take up space is now gone!

All in all it wasn’t a horrible experience, I can’t imagine having to call a plumber in the States is a fun experience and at least in Korea it didn’t really cost me anything to get it fixed. My water bill is included in my monthly apartment fee and the apartment owner covered the cost of the plumber coming out. So…the incident of the leaking toilet was a simple fix!

Leave a Reply

