Cafe Mong Mong, Another visit to a dog cafe!

While wandering around my neighborhood one day I spotted a dog cafe that was pretty close by. I had been to a dog cafe before, and I was pretty unimpressed…you can read about that here. So, after the first experience I had pretty much written off all dog cafes. What set Cafe Mong Mong apart from the last one however was that I saw someone taking in their own dog. I’m not sure if this is an option at other dog cafes but I really did want to take Aurora in so that she could meet up with some other dogs.

In the States she was never been the only animal in the house, she either lived with other dogs or even a cat so she was used to some other furry companions. Even though she does see dogs at the park on her walks the interactions are usually pretty short and most other dog owners are scared of her size….even though she’s not that big, she’s still a lot bigger than the mini poodles running around everywhere in Korea.

Josh has looked into getting Aurora into a doggy day care but the hours of the one close to his apartment don’t fit with his work schedule and they are usually over booked anyways. So in theory if Aurora would socialize at this cafe then it would be a great opportunity for her to get her social life up and running. Upon actually taking her to the cafe, I quickly found out this would not be the case! Aurora likes to hide under the chair I’m sitting in while at the cafe, with more visits this is getting better…eventually she’ll be social…just not any time soon.

Hiding under a chair

Hiding under a chair

This dachshund is super friendly...every time I go she either sleeps on my jacket or me

This dachshund is super friendly…every time I go she either sleeps on my jacket or me

I have to say, this dog cafe is so much better than the last cafe I visited. For starters, the dogs aren’t all diapered up, they are trained to use pee pads that are hidden away in a bathroom. And the accidents that do happen, which is inevitable with so many dogs are immediately cleaned up by the staff. The cafe smelled like Pine Sol, which was kind of surprising, but definitely a plus.

Inside of the cafe

Inside of the cafe

Aurora getting a little more comfortable around the other dogs

Aurora getting a little more comfortable around the other dogs

There is no fee for entrance into the dog cafe or to bring your own dog, you will just need to buy something. The cost of drinks is a little higher than at other cafes, I usually go with either a peach iced tea or green tea latte which run about ₩7,000-8,000 (about $7). With your drink or food purchase you will be given a little cookie/biscuit (for human consumption) plus a small cup of dog food to feed the cafe dogs with. The dogs at the cafe definitely know when its feeding time and will swarm you for the food. I would recommend bringing wet wipes so you can wipe off the drool from your hand after feeding them.

Drinks, little cookie biscuits and a small cup of dog food to make friends with

Drinks, little cookie biscuits and a small cup of dog food to make friends with

Cafe dogs

Cafe dogs

I have to say this cafe is pretty great, for me it means I can go and forcefully socialize my dog while hanging out with other really cute dogs. I would recommend a visit to Cafe Mong Mong to anyone interested in dogs, owner or not.

Leave a Reply

