Art and Tea in Insadong

Insadong is a pretty famous tourist destination in Seoul, if you look up where to visit in Seoul chances are Insadong will be on the list. The street is filled with numerous shops where you can buy plenty of souvenirs ranging from fridge magnets to hand made masks and stamps. Last year when I visited I made sure to get a custom stamp made for my brother and buy a bunch of small gifts for friends and family back home…read more here. Some things definitely worth checking out while shopping in Insadong would be: hangi paper, ceramics, stamps (dojang)and the Korean drama masks.

Insadong is also home to quite a few art galleries, any of which I think would be worth a visit. On this particular trip I was with my boss and one of the art teachers at my school. The art teacher is still in college and her professor was having a show at one of the galleries. The show was being held at the Gallery Misul Segye in Insadong and consisted of numerous oil paintings ranging in size.

Overview of the gallery

Overview of the gallery

Some of the oil paintings

Some of the oil paintings

Close up of one of the paintings, I really liked this one

Close up of one of the paintings, I really liked this one

I hadn’t been to an art gallery in quite a while and although viewing art isn’t something I normally do it was quite an enjoyable afternoon. The artist was very kind and gave us all his book printed with his pictures.

After the show we ventured into a small tea shop for enjoy some tea. This is something I would definitely recommend for any trip to Insadong. There are quite a few tea shops to choose from, I would go with one that lets you sit on the floor, it just feels like a more authentic experience. We ordered my favorite sides with the tea which are 한과 hangwa which is like a cheeto puff but slight sweet from honey and  유과 yugwa which is a honey and grain snack that is a little chewy.

Korean traditional snacks and tea steeping

Korean traditional snacks and tea steeping

I think I got the lotus leaf tea, it was loose leaf and pretty good

I think I got the lotus leaf tea, it was loose leaf and pretty good

Overall I would say you really can’t go wrong with a visit to Insadong, its filled with numerous shops, tea houses, galleries and restaurants…everyone will find something they enjoy!

Leave a Reply

