Going to See the Eye Doctor in Korea!

So…I did a stupid thing. An epically stupid thing. Somehow, and I’ll leave the details purposefully murky to keep some of my dignity, I managed to get gold glitter glue in my eye. A whole glob of it was just sitting on my left eyeball…

Immediately after it happened I spent about 30 minutes cleaning out my eye at the sink, with Q-tips on the inner rim and corner, getting out as much of the glue and glitter as I could. The art teacher at my school even ran down to the pharmacy and picked up some eye drops for me. After an hour or so my eye didn’t feel like it was full of glue and glitter, just a little sore and achey. During my last class of the night I had to excuse myself because there was yellow goo coming out of it. But, other than that the eye seemed to be in decent shape.

Throughout the whole ordeal my bosses kept asking if I wanted to be taken to a hospital and I kept refusing…mostly out of embarrassment and fear of eye patches. But, when I woke up the next morning and my left eye was a little tender and the vision a little foggy I knew I had to bite the bullet and see the eye doctor. I mean, embarrassment is one thing, blindness a whole other thing.

Luckily, my bosses were able to find an eye clinic that was really close by and took me first thing in the morning. It was Yonsei Eye Clinic in Janggi-Dong, Gimpo and it was really nice. I guess my bosses called ahead and told them I was coming because immediately after sitting in the waiting area I was called in to see the doctor. He examined my glitter eye pretty thoroughly before sending me off for what felt like the standard eye check and then back to the doctor for another examination and eye drops. The doctor spoke fantastic English and was very kind. Not at all judgmental considering the situation. Apparently the glitter glue hadn’t caused any serious damage just some eye irritation. I was told that it was still possible I could get an eye infection and was prescribed some eyedrops and told if I feel any pain or irritation in 2 days then to come back.

Only shot I managed to take inside the clinic, you can see the lady on the left is actually calling out my name

Only shot I managed to take inside the clinic, you can see the lady on the left is actually calling out my name

The visit to the optometrist cost ₩8,300 (Less that $8) and was extremely quick. I wasn’t in the office for more than 30 minutes. As with all other times I have gone to the hospital in Korea it was very quick and efficient. After the hospital visit was done I went down to the pharmacy and got the eye drops with cost ₩2,800 (Around $2). So all in all the whole ordeal cost me around $10 and my pride but it was worth it.

Here are the eye drops I was prescribed

Here are the eye drops I was prescribed

Closer look at the eye drops

Closer look at the eye drops

If you are in the Janggi area of Gimpo and need to see an optometrist I would recommend The Yonsei Eye Clinic. The staff was very nice and quick and the doctor spoke great English. I’m not too sure about the other staff there as I went with 2 Korean speakers but I think they would be able to communicate well enough. The clinic itself was pretty big and had quite a few people in the waiting area.

One thought on “Going to See the Eye Doctor in Korea!

Leave a Reply

