Happy Lunar New Year!

This past Monday was the Lunar New Year of 설날 in Korea which meant that most people go home to visit their families to celebrate. If you don’t have family to visit in Korea then you have a 5 day holiday to celebrate as you want!

It is really common to give presents to your family during this time. As with other holidays, this is when the grocery stores will roll out the SPAM gift sets…that’s right, SPAM gift sets. Koreans love giving presents and eating so why not combine the two into food gift sets. Not all of the sets have SPAM in them, those are the ones that just confuse me the most.

For Lunar New Year I was given a bath set and a food set (that included some canned meat). I had been meaning to buy soy sauce so it was a welcome surprise that I got some in a gift set.

On the left is the bath set, on the right the food set...it came with Canola oil, soy sauce and meat...overall very practical gifts!

On the left is the bath set, on the right the food set…it came with Canola oil, soy sauce and meat…overall very practical gifts!

I have to say any time I get a gift it is welcome, and I love that the gifts that I received were so practical! Everything will be put to good use besides the meat…but I’m sure I can find someone who will enjoy it. Over the holiday I visited Lotte World which is kind of like the Korean version of Disneyland…it was great, and a post will be coming soon on that.

Happy Lunar New Year to everyone!

Leave a Reply

