Taking Aurora to the Vet!

This week was the first time I took Aurora to a local vet in South Korea. Although it was the first for me, she has already been to the vet in Bundang (where Josh lives) twice as Josh is trying to get her registered for a doggy day care program there that requires up to date health check and vaccines to allow her to hang out with the other dogs there. Although I was kind of annoyed that she had to get re-vaccinated even after we showed her documents that her vaccines were up to date, I also appreciate that all dogs going to this day care have to go through such a rigorous health screening which should hopefully mean no one dog gets sick.

Anyways, this week on Wednesday morning I discovered that Aurora’s vagina was a little red and swollen. Naturally I started panicking and googling what it could possibly be. Once I got to work I told my boss what happened and she immediately told me that at lunch we could take Aurora to the vet to get checked out. This is why if you are coming to South Korea with a dog you should try and find a Korean dog owner…its really helpful to have someone who can speak the language and recommend vet, good parks, where to buy food and treats, etc.

Only picture I took at the vet's office

Only picture I took at the vet’s office

Anyways we took her to the vet, she got checked out and the vet said it was a minor infection, gave me some antibiotic pills and cleaning solution and we were on our way. The whole trip took about 25 minutes and cost about ₩25,000 (less than $25). Overall it was a pleasant experience, minus all the vagina talk with my boss.

Vet information

Vet information

Cleaning solution and antibiotic pills

Cleaning solution and antibiotic pills

Few days later and the infection is cleared up and she's back to normal

Few days later and the infection is cleared up and she’s back to normal

 

Leave a Reply

