Visiting a Korean Army Base and Riding in a Tank!!

By far one of the coolest things I did in Korea was visit a Korean army base and then get a tank ride!! Its something I’m sure not many Koreans let alone foreigners living in Korea (civilians) get to experience and was such a great memory. In Korea, service in the military is compulsory for all males. Usually right out of high school they serve about 2 years in some part of the military. Our friend Eunji’s younger brother is currently completing his military service and she invited Josh and I to come visit when she went to see him during the once a year Family Day on base.

Entrance to the main building

Entrance to the main building

First we were briefed by this guy

First we were briefed by this guy

After being briefed in a presentation by the above gentleman we were then free to roam around the facility and check out what its like to live on base. Our first stop was the small store they have on base where we bought ice cream, sodas and Korean military shirts….I love my shirt.

Shopping at the base store

Shopping at the base store

Waiting in line to buy my stuff

Waiting in line to buy my stuff, the shirt the guy behind the cash register is wearing is the same shirt as the shirts that Josh and I ended up purchasing

After buying our goodies we then wandered around the barracks and imagined what it might be like to live on base. It sort of reminded me of my summer camp days, only more official.

Walking down the halls of the barracks

Walking down the halls of the barracks

Bathroom facility was pretty clean for all dudes using it

Bathroom facility was pretty clean for all dudes using it

Sleeping area for the guys in service

Sleeping area for the guys in service

Typical sleeping area

Typical sleeping area

Here's me looking super official...not

Here’s me looking super official…not

After checking out the facilities we got to go inspect some of the vehicles they had on base. Eunji’s brother’s base specialized in tanks…so yeah we got to go climb in some tanks!

Here is an overview of the vehicles we got to look at

Here is an overview of the vehicles we got to look at

Hanging out in a tank

Hanging out in a tank

CHEESE!!!!! Or should I say KIMCHI!!!

CHEESE!!!!! Or should I say KIMCHI!!!

Oh well, I almost didn't see you there from the high view from my TANK

Oh well, I almost didn’t see you there from the high view from my TANK

Eunji and her brother

Eunji and her brother

After exploring around the vehicles we were even given some background information on various military equipment and how it is used.

Knowledge is power

Knowledge is power

And finally…we got to ride in a moving tank…that was driven by Eunji’s brother…HOW COOL IS THAT??? In an epic battle of rock, paper, scissors I managed to win which meant that I got to poke my head out the top of the tank while¬†Josh and Eunji had to stay sitting down inside the tank.

Here is the area the tank was driving through

Here is the area the tank was driving through

Oh, you know...just going for a casual ride in a tank

Oh, you know…just going for a casual ride in a tank

Another majestic pic of me in the tank

Another majestic pic of me in the tank

Look how put together I am after my tank ride!

Look how put together I am after my tank ride!

Not! This is what I really looked like...

Not! This is what I really looked like…

All in all, I can check riding in a tank off of my bucket list and tell you that it was an amazing day. Huge thanks to both Eunji and her brother for giving Josh and I this awesome opportunity. And another big thanks to the Korean army for letting us ride in a tank and for being so kind and informative during our brief time on the base!!!

Leave a Reply

