Leaving Korea Going Away Dinner

Before we left Korea to head back home to the States our bosses at the Changyeong English Village took Josh and I out for a farewell dinner. It was a really nice gesture, even if I did end up being totally allergic to the food I ate. Who knew I was allergic to duck? Not me.

For this adventure all the staff at CEV drove into Changyeong and then up into the nearby mountains where the restaurant was located.

The restaurant exterior

The restaurant exterior

Menu of the restaurant

Menu of the restaurant

Look back into the kitchen area

Look back into the kitchen area

Main restaurant sitting area, in the back left and right are smaller rooms for bigger groups

Main restaurant sitting area, in the back left and right are smaller rooms for bigger groups

Apparently our bosses had called ahead, as soon as we arrived at the restaurant our food and table was prepared and waiting for us. After the obligatory speeches we were free to dig in!

Time for smiles and speeches

Time for smiles and speeches

Inside the big dish is steamed duck and veggies, the rest are small side dishes called banchan. The banchan at this resaurant were really tasty.

Inside the big dish is steamed duck and veggies, the rest are small side dishes called banchan. The banchan at this resaurant were really tasty.

Now for my thoughts on the food. I have to say that all the banchan were really tasty and most likely all made at the restaurant. The main course, the steamed duck was pretty good, its taste and texture reminded me quite a bit of baked ham. Now, that I know I’m allergic to the stuff I’ll stay away in the future, but taste wise it was pretty good. Finally we were treated to lotus leaf rice, which is various rice and beans steamed in a lotus leaf. Our bosses were really excited for us to eat this rice as it is both healthy and a bit of a delicacy. I have to say that I think I would have enjoyed eating the rice with the main portion of the meal instead of at the end, after I had already eaten too much.

Close up on the steamed duck

Close up on the steamed duck

My small dish...I preferred the duck wrapped in a lettuce leaf with some veggies

My small dish…I preferred the duck wrapped in a lettuce leaf with some veggies

How pretty is the presentation of the lotus leaf rice?

How pretty is the presentation of the lotus leaf rice?

What the rice inside the lotus leaf looks like. It tasted a lot like the rice my grandma used to make, which is a good thing!

What the rice inside the lotus leaf looks like. It tasted a lot like the rice my grandma used to make, which is a good thing!

Overall, I have to say this was a really fun meal. It was great of our former bosses to take us out for one last meal with the rest of the CEV staff and definitely put us on par to end on a good note. This will be my last post of the Changyeong English Village, it had its ups and downs but overall was a great place to work for our first year in Korea. Honestly, looking back Josh and I should never have taken positions at this school since it was pretty remote in the country and more importantly we weren’t permitted to bring our dog but hindsight is 20/20 and the school treated us pretty well.

Final farewell to the staff at the Changyeong English Village

Final farewell to the staff at the Changyeong English Village

This pic swaps out Sohee for Mr. Ha, so you can see everyone who worked at CEV during Josh and my time there.

This pic swaps out Sohee for Mr. Ha, so you can see mostly everyone who worked at CEV during our time there.

Leave a Reply

