Hair Update! Color Correction and a Huge Chop for Summer!

So if you are keeping up with my hair journey up until this point then you will know that before my visit to the salon last Thursday I had long, layered silver/blonde hair. Not too long after the gray in my hair wore off I began getting what is called a “halo” which is apparently when the roots of blonde dyed hair turn a different color than the rest of the hair. I finally decided to keep the blonde hair for summer and that I wanted to go from long hair to medium length hair.

Before going into the salon....my hair was pretty long and the root area was pretty bad...it became this really brassy yellow color

Before going into the salon….my hair was pretty long and the root area was pretty bad…it became this really brassy yellow color

In case you want to see my hair journey during the last year I’ll link all the relevant posts here:

First time getting dyed in Korea

Straight perm touch up and trim

Gray Hair

After about a month back in the States I headed over to see Danielle at Daniel and Company in Huntington Beach. I saw her a couple of times before I left for Korea and knew she would be able to help me. I was pleasantly surprised that this time around I only needed to do 1 round of bleach before the toning.

I have yet to figure out how to look cute while my hair is being bleached

I have yet to figure out how to look cute while my hair is being bleached

Under the dryer while the bleach does its work...I have never been able to be under one of these things for too long without falling asleep....notice the sleepy eyes are setting in

Under the dryer while the bleach does its work…I have never been able to be under one of these things for too long without falling asleep….notice the sleepy eyes are setting in

Results of the bleach....a super light yellow

Results of the bleach….a super light yellow

After the round of bleach it was time to tone the root area to try and color match it to the rest of the hair. For this Danielle used some kind of gray toner.

Gray toner, apparently toner is a less permanent way to color hair and far less damaging. Not that I'm ever going to attempt to dye my own hair.

Gray toner, apparently toner is a less permanent way to color hair and far less damaging. Not that I’m ever going to attempt to dye my own hair.

After the hair was taken care of I decided I wanted my hair to be cut quite a bit. I wanted the length to be just┬ápast shoulder length with not too many layers (initially I had said I didn’t want any layers and luckily for me Danielle told me that wouldn’t be a great idea). She ended up cutting about 5 inches of hair off of my head and I couldn’t be happier with the result!

When all was said and done my roots matched the rest of my hair, I had a lot less length and I was SUPER happy!

When all was said and done my roots matched the rest of my hair, I had a lot less length and I was SUPER happy!

Before and after of my visit

Before and after of my visit

And in different lighting you can see the hair tone is a really ashy blonde....exactly what I wanted about 6 months ago when I decided to dye my hair the first time in Korea...well if at first you don't succeed, try try again!

And in different lighting you can see the hair tone is a really ashy blonde….exactly what I wanted about 6 months ago when I decided to dye my hair the first time in Korea…well if at first you don’t succeed, try try again!

One thought on “Hair Update! Color Correction and a Huge Chop for Summer!

Leave a Reply

