CHARIVARI IN VOYEURVILLE at the Fringe Festival

This past Saturday I was invited out by a friend to go see Charivari In Voyeurville, a music and dance performance/show which is part of the Hollywood Fringe Festival. To be completely honest I went into the show blind, not knowing much of what I was going to see. That being said, I don’t think I could have received an explanation that would have properly prepared me for the show. It was a collaboration between the band House of Rabbits (Hardcore-Vaudeville) and the Post Mortem Movement Theatre. The show was held in the Lillian Theatre, a smaller theatre with about 100 seats.

The only picture I took, before the show started...and it's a horrible picture, definitely doesn't do the stage or theater any justice

The only picture I took, before the show started…and it’s a horrible picture, definitely doesn’t do the stage or theater any justice

So…here’s the part where I try and explain the show… The show tells the story of the occupants of a town named Voyeurville, particularly from the point of view of the town’s local gossip, Lady Windowmirror. The play was broken up into small stories of different town residents and many of the characters experiences were portrayed through dance while the House of Rabbits played live music in the background. The dancing in the show I found to be quite good (that being said I know nothing of dancing) and entertaining. What really made the show a riveting experience for me was the music. There is something to be said of live music and how it has a certain energy that made the dance performances really come alive. I had never before heard any of the House of Rabbit’s music and this was a good way to introduce myself to the music. It’s a unique style, I’ve never heard of Hardcore-Vaudeville before but to me it was something that is unique but easy to listen to. Kind of  show-tunesy but with an edge? That’s as good an explanation as you’ll get from me.

The show lasts about an hour but seems longer than an hour, in a good way. From what I could tell, my fellow audience members enjoyed the performance just as much as I did. I’m not sure on how much longer the show will be running, but if you have time and don’t mind going to LA (haha, this is an Orange County joke, there’s nothing wrong with going to LA…except for parking) I think it would be a fun way to spend an hour of your time.

Link to the Charivari in Voyeurville webpage on the Hollywood Fringe Festival Website: http://www.hollywoodfringe.org/projects/2328

This has nothing to do with the show, but I LOVED the shirt this guy was wearing so naturally I had to take a picture with it...

This has nothing to do with the show, but I LOVED the shirt this guy was wearing so naturally I had to take a picture with it…

Stage prop from the show

And here’s me looking awkward with a stage prop from the show

 

Leave a Reply

