My (Unintentional) Gray Hair Journey

<<Update: I have since found a great hair salon in Korea that does a great job with foreign hair, it’s called Hair and Joy and is in Hongdae (Seoul)….you can check out my experience here>>

Right before I left Korea I decided I wanted to do something pretty drastic hair wise. If you have kept up with my prior hair dying experience in Korea (if not, you can read all about it here) then you will know that about 4 months ago I somehow got it into my head that I really wanted to dye my hair blonde. As someone with very little experience with hair coloring I figured I would go into the salon, they would dye my hair and that would be that. Oh, how wrong I was. I was quickly informed that because of my natural hair color (dark brown) I wouldn’t be able to go as light as I wanted to without the help of some bleach. Never having bleached my hair before this was something that scared me and my first time dying my hair in Korea I went as light as I could without the help of bleach, the results were pretty orange.

The next time around I figured it was time to go big and I wanted a darker ashy blonde color. I went to a salon called Cosette in Seoul since I had heard and seen good results. After trying to get my point across on the color I wanted I was told it would take two bleaching sessions before they could even dye it. This was the night before I boarded a plane back home to Cali and I figured it would be a fun last adventure in Korea.

cosette

Cosette in Seoul

Inside the salon

Inside the salon

Before getting my hair bleached and dyed

Before getting my hair bleached and dyed

The process was:

1. Bleach 1: the results were so orange

Ahhh....no turning back now!!

Ahhh….no turning back now!!

Bleach 1...all I'm missing is a gavel to be a judge

Bleach 1…all I’m missing is a gavel to be a judge

Bleach 1 results...an unnatural shade of orange

Bleach 1 results…an unnatural shade of orange

2. Bleach 2: the results were so yellow

Bleach 2...was done with fantastic tin foil hat on...

Bleach 2…was done with fantastic tin foil hat on…

Bleach 2 results...so yellow, just so yellow

Bleach 2 results…so yellow, just so yellow

3. Dye: the results were like a muted rainbow…blue, gray, kind of green, ashy blonde

Painting on the dye

Painting on the dye

Oh man so sexy...I guess the purple counteracts the yellowness

Oh man so sexy…I guess the purple counteracts the yellowness

4. Conditioning treatment: to try and put some life back into my now dead hair

This deep conditioning treatment did an amazing job at bringing some life back into my damaged strands...don't get me wrong my hair is still damaged but this treatment restored some health to it

This deep conditioning treatment did an amazing job at bringing some life back into my damaged strands…don’t get me wrong my hair is still damaged but this treatment restored some health to it

5. ENJOY

gray hair

Morning after...and my hair is still gray

Morning after…and my hair is still gray

My results were…interesting…I think it is summed up best with Josh’s immediate reaction to my hair being unveiled after the final color treatment was finished: “It’s ok your mom can pay to fix it.” Ouch. While they were blowing out my hair and I was finally able to see the true color my hair I started to panic…it was ashy blonde, kind of green, parts were blue but mostly it was just a dark gray color. While sitting in the salon chair I decided that there wasn’t anything I could immediately do with the color since my hair was left in such a damaged state from the bleaching process. So I figured, what the heck I’ve always wanted to have crazy hair, I’m going home to relax and not really do much for a couple of months so who cares if my hair is a little crazy looking for the summer. Plus, gray hair doesn’t really have longevity so its been washing out and turning the ashy blonde tone I was after all along!

Two weeks later...my hair is pretty blonde...there are still gray parts but overall its blonde

Two weeks later…my hair is pretty blonde…there are still gray parts but overall its blonde

All in all I have been enjoying my new hair color…I can now say I have had pretty much all the hair colors!

3 thoughts on “My (Unintentional) Gray Hair Journey

Leave a Reply

