The journey back home!!

The journey from South Korea back home to California was a long one…all in all it was over 24 hours of travel. It started off with transporting three 50 pound suitcases to the subway, transferring to the airport subway line and then onto the airport.

These were all luggage that I ended up checking. China Southern Airlines allows you to check 2 50 pound items and the third suitcase cost $180

These were all luggage that I ended up checking. Somehow (i.e. with Josh’s hard work) all of these were transported from Hongdae in Seoul to Incheon International Airport.

My plane to China

My plane to China

Entertainment console on China Southern Airlines, had a great selection of movies to watch

Entertainment console on China Southern Airlines, had a great selection of movies to watch

Once at the airport, I checked in the suitcases (on the airline I flew you are allowed 2 checked in suitcases and the third suitcase cost about $180) and then got onto the first flight which took me to Guangzhou, China.

This was a ok, it was fried fish with white rice. As I was already not feeling well I decided to skip on the fish.

This was a ok, it was fried fish with white rice. As I was already not feeling well I decided to skip on the fish and just stuck with the bread and salad.

In the airport, I walked around and checked out the gift shops which were CRAZY overpriced. I was going to buy a panda for my brother but was shocked at how overpriced everything was. All I ended up buying was some blooming jasmine tea as a souvenir.

Inside Guangzhou International Airport, the way it was laid out reminded me a lot of Shanghai International Airport

Inside Guangzhou International Airport, the way it was laid out reminded me a lot of Shanghai International Airport

I was scheduled to have a 3 hour layover in Guangzhou but due to some heavy rains it turned into a 6 hour layover. But hey, tacking on an extra 3 hours to my time in China meant that I got a free bottle of water!!

There was a 2 hour delay due to storms so the airline passed out water for the passengers

There was a 2 hour delay due to storms so the airline passed out water for the passengers

Never heard of Mulberry juice...it was ok, like a less sweet grape juice

Never heard of Mulberry juice…it was ok, like a less sweet grape juice

Meal #1 was chicken and potatoes. There was some kind of meat on the salad which I tried but it had a taste I didn't enjoy. Not the worst plane food I've had.

Meal #1 was chicken and potatoes. There was some kind of meat on the salad which I tried but it had a taste I didn’t enjoy. Not the worst plane food I’ve had.

For breakfast I chose the Chinese option which was chicken and noodles and pretty tasty! I always say no to microwaved eggs. Overall this was a good breakfast that came with a croissant, yogurt and fruit.

Meal #2 was breakfast and I chose the Chinese option which was chicken and noodles and pretty tasty! I always say no to microwaved eggs. Overall this was a good breakfast that came with a croissant, yogurt and fruit.

Once I arrived home safe and sound with all of my luggage in Los Angeles I was picked up by my brother (who totally didn’t recognize me…but that’s another story altogether and coming soon regarding my change in hair color) and we went out to some nearby Mexican joint called El Tarasco. After pigging out on enchiladas covered in sour cream and guacamole I finally arrived at my parents house and was greeted by my confused puppy.

First meal after arriving on California soil was at some small restaurant in LA called El Tarasco, pretty standard and sooooo delicious. As you can see I ordered guacamole and all the sour cream.

First meal after arriving on California soil was at some small restaurant in LA called El Tarasco, pretty standard and sooooo delicious. As you can see I ordered guacamole and all the sour cream.

Yes!!! super jetlagged but happy to see my puppy!!

Yes!!! super jetlagged but happy to see my puppy!!

All in all I had two safe flights home, three huge suitcases were transported successfully and I didn’t have any lasting illnesses…just the inevitable cold that comes with long plane rides and getting used to a new country.

Also, just a quick point of view on some international airlines when flying between South Korea and the States. I have now flown Asiana, Korean Airlines and China Southern Airlines. In terms of ranking each airline I would have to say Asiana was the best, followed by China Southern Airlines and then Korean Air.

Asiana Airlines: decent food, constant drinks and snacks, toothbrush and toothpaste provided, slippers provided, decent entertainment selection

China Southern Airlines: ok food, water provided, best entertainment selection

Korean Air: decent food, constant drinks and snacks, toothbrush and toothpaste provided, slippers provided, the worst entertainment selection

Leave a Reply

