Cafe Burano…Giant Food & Brunch! (Plus my thoughts on Brunch in Korea)

I LOVE brunch…this could be because I love breakfast food but I hate waking up early…I always get excited when I wake up on a weekend and still have enough time to get McMorning…

Anyways, I am not picky when it comes to brunch…as long as it involves the classics (2 eggs, some form of fried potato, bacon, sometimes sausage and toast). To be honest getting the Build Your Own Grand Slam from Denny’s is one of my favorite brunches back home in the States…you can order it at any time of day and its pretty cheap…win win. But, I also appreciate fancy brunch buffets where there are people making omelets and pancakes to order. I also like brunch buffets because you can pick from both breakfast and lunch items…since it is always a hard decision for me on which direction I want to go in.

I have found that brunch in Korea is a little different…it still has the same ideas of what brunch is, just catered more to Korean taste buds. Some differences I have found are: non-crispy bacon (Josh and I like our bacon thinly cut and super crispy and in our time here travelling and living in Asia we haven’t been able to find crispy bacon…unless I make it), the salad on the side (in Korea many brunch choices will come with some sort of a salad on the side…I like this addition) and the lack of choice on eggs (usually eggs come scrambled).

Cafe Burano in Hongdae had some pretty good brunch choices on their menu, the whole menu looked delicious. The cafe itself is kind of hidden in one of the many alleyways in Hongdae but that didn’t seem to stop them from having a good amount of patrons…I guess word of good brunch spreads quickly, especially among the foreign community.

We have arrived at our Brunch destination

We have arrived at our Brunch destination

The exterior of the cafe

The exterior of the cafe

Inside is a pretty decent sized restaurant with simple decor

Inside is a pretty decent sized restaurant with simple decor

In our group we ended up ordering the Waffle Brunch, French Toast Brunch and the Gorgonzola Pasta that comes in a bread bowl. We also ordered some drinks and macaroons to nosh on while waiting for our food and I can say the macaroons were pretty good and a little on the large size (not complaining at all). As far as macaroons go I thought the pricing was on the less expensive side in comparison to other macaroons I have purchased in Korea. The macaroons at Cafe Buran cost ₩1,900 each.

Menu at Cafe Burano

Menu at Cafe Burano

Cafe Burano...where the macaroons are so good you will eat half of them before you even take pictures of them

Cafe Burano…where the macaroons are so good you will eat half of them before you even take pictures of them

To the food! The portions were HUGE! Not knowing this going in, each member of our group of four ordered their own plate…a mistake since we could easily have shared one plate between two people. The brunch meals came with the bread of choice (waffle or French Toast), fried potatoes (cut up in large pieces), what must have been at least 4 scrambled eggs, 1 piece of bacon (good but not crispy enough), 1 piece of sausage and a salad with pomegranate seeds on top. Despite my love of brunch I opted to go for the Gorgonzola pasta in a bread bowl…anytime I see pasta or soup in a bread bowl I’m sold.

Waffle Brunch

Waffle Brunch

French Toast brunch

French Toast brunch

Gorgonzola pasta in a bread bowl...enough to feed 2 people

Gorgonzola pasta in a bread bowl…enough to feed 2 people

This picture is so you can get a grasp on just how large the brunch plates are!

This picture is so you can get a grasp on just how large the brunch plates are!

And….the food was all delicious, everyone was pleased with what they ordered. The food items were tasty, the drinks were good (I had the Green Tea Latte and is was great) and the macaroons were inexpensive (for macaroons) and yummy. I can see a visit to Cafe Burano in my future, albeit with less plates ordered.

2 thoughts on “Cafe Burano…Giant Food & Brunch! (Plus my thoughts on Brunch in Korea)

Leave a Reply

