What to do in Jeonju: Hanbok Experience

Something you will see quite a bit while walking around in the Jeonju Hanok Village is people walking around in hanboks. It is really fun experience to see people dressed in Korean costume wandering around the traditional style buildings of Jeonju. You can make the experience even more fun by dressing up in a hanbok yourself! Depending on which stop you drop into prices range from ₩5,000-10,000 ($5-10) for 3 hours.

One of the many couples wandering around the hanok village in hanboks

One of the many couples wandering around the hanok village in hanboks

All you need to do is enter one of the many shops scattered throughout the hanok village, pick from a selection of hanboks (this is where I would recommend you go in earlier in the day, by the time we arrived the selection was pretty sparce). The ladies running the hanbok rental helped us put on the traditional Korean clothing and then braided our hair and put decorative little headbands on us. For the price and the enjoyment I think it is a must do when visiting the Jeonju Hanok Village.

Deciding which hanbok to wear

Deciding which hanbok to wear

I think this hanbok was just a little too big for me

I think this hanbok was just a little too big for me

There was a selection to choose from, but the earlier you get there the more variety you have!

There was a selection to choose from, but the earlier you get there the more variety you have!

Getting my hair done...I had it up in a messy bun before arriving and the lady helping me did not know what to do with the mess that was my hair

Getting my hair done…I had it up in a messy bun before arriving and the lady helping me did not know what to do with the mess that was my hair

Eunji getting her hair done. I think the ladies helping us out were much more comfortable braiding Eunji's thick, Asian hair. My super fine, tangled hair presented a bit of a challenge.

Eunji getting her hair done. I think the ladies helping us out were much more comfortable braiding Eunji’s thick, Asian hair. My super fine, tangled hair presented a bit of a challenge.

Somehow I even managed to convince Josh to wear a hanbok. He was pretty unhappy with this at first but eventually warmed up to wearing the hanbok. Honestly, I think it made him look like a pirate, in a good way.

This is Josh's "I cannot believe you convinced me to do this" face

This is Josh’s “I cannot believe you convinced me to do this” face

After 10 minutes of hard core nagging I was rewarded with Josh agreeing to wear the hanbok

After 10 minutes of hard core nagging I was rewarded with Josh agreeing to wear the hanbok

So after getting hanboked up we then ventured forth into the hanok village to wander around.

Hanboks in the rain

Hanboks in the rain

Posing in my hanbok, I eventually settled on yellow and light blue (mostly) because they were the first ones that fit well. But I did end up really liking this combination of colors

Posing in my hanbok, I eventually settled on yellow and light blue (mostly) because they were the first ones that fit well. But I did end up really liking this combination of colors

Eunji settled on the pink hanbok which I think really suited her

Eunji settled on the pink hanbok which I think really suited her

After wearing hanboks to a cafe, walking around and even eating bibimbap, we then did an impromptu photo shoot in front of the hanbok rental store. They had a pretty garden in front that was just right for taking out traditional photos.

Smile!

Smile!

Posing in front of the flower tree

Posing in front of the flower tree

How funny is the look on my face in this picture...clearly I am plotting something

How funny is the look on my face in this picture…clearly I am plotting something

Just strolling through the gardens

Just strolling through the gardens

Photographer has been spotted!

Photographer has been spotted!

Posers

Posers

More posing

More posing

Hanbok selfie

Hanbok selfie

Personally, I love wearing hanboks. Both times in Korea I have had the opportunity to wear one it was a struggle to get me to take it off. They are pretty comfortable to wear since they are so loose and lightweight and I love looking at the variation in colors. I always go for the bright options but there are more muted colored hanboks that are beautiful as well. I have a baby hanbok from my 100 day celebration and I think one day in the future I want to get a custom hanbok made in those same colors.

Back to wearing hanboks in the Jeonju Hanok Village, GO FOR IT! It’s super inexpensive, makes for some great photo opportunities and they are comfortable to wear.

4 thoughts on “What to do in Jeonju: Hanbok Experience

  1. Jeremy Coker says:

    Sorry I’ve been away so long. 🙂 These are some great pics! You actually ‘rent’ the Hanboks? That’s interesting. Smart, though. You guys look great… Josh shouldn’t resist wearing one….. He kinda looks like royalty when he wears it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesockmonkeyproject says:

      I know!! I think he looks piratish…anything that makes you looks like royaltly/piraty is always a good thing right?

      Like

  2. followtybr says:

    Hi! I planning on trying this out myself when I visit here, only problem is im rather petite O: Could you tell how long the hanboks were roughly ?

    Like

    • thesockmonkeyproject says:

      From what I remember there was a room of various sized hanboks…I’m 5’2″/157 cm and I went with a friend who was a little shorter and we were able to find hanboks that fit! Hopefully you have luck finding one in your size…it’s so fun!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

