Indian Food in Korea Part 2 (Sinchon)

We recently ate at another good Indian restaurant in Seoul. This time we were in the Sinchon area which is an area known for its affordable prices since many of the patrons and residents of this neighborhood are students. The restaurants in this area more affordable than some other areas in Seoul. Josh, Eunji and I settled on eating at Naan, an Indian restaurant. Apparently we got some kind of a special deal where we received two curries (from a limited selection), chicken tikka, three large naan breads, three beverages and an assortment of pickles all for ₩27,000 (under $27).

I posted my thoughts on Utsav (an Indian restaurant in Hongdae, Seoul) not too long ago and I couldn’t help but compare the two restaurants while eating at Naan. (Utsav thoughts)

Naan is a small restaurant on the second floor of the building and inside you will find a well decorated interior. There are bright lanterns and tapestries scattered throughout the restaurant making for a nice ambiance.

Interior of Naan

Interior of Naan

I liked the decor at Naan, the bright colors were nice

I liked the decor at Naan, the bright colors were nice

Onto the food! As I mentioned before we somehow scored a pretty sweat deal which to me always makes food taste better. I guess my inner cheapskate enjoys food that doesn’t give a beating to my wallet. The chicken tikka was good, not extraordinary but still had good flavor. The chicken tikka masala was mostly sauce and on the creamy side which I don’t mind since it makes it easy to dip naan into.

The meal

The meal

Close up of the naan

Close up of the naan, we chose garlic naan

Close up of the chicken tikka masala, we chose two orders of this

Close up of the chicken tikka masala

Chicken tikka, tasted good

Chicken tikka, tasted good

The pickles, I tried the red one and I think it was onion?

The pickles, I tried the red one and I think it was onion?

Our set menu also came drinks of our choosing so we sampled the mango and strawberry lassi. I despise all things strawberry but Eunji loved the strawberry lassi. I found the mango lassi to taste mostly of yogurt.

The drinks...Chilsung Cider (reminds me of 7up or Sprite), strawberry lassi and mango lassi

The drinks…Chilsung Cider (reminds me of 7up or Sprite), strawberry lassi and mango lassi

Overall I would say for the price you get a good deal of tasty food, especially if you can score some kind of a deal like we did. If you want curry that has more meat and is a little better tasting then you can pay more and head over to Utsav in Hongdae. To be honest I would eat at both places again happily, it would just depend on how much I felt like shelling out on Indian food.

Maybe after trying out some more Indian restaurants in Seoul I’ll have to do a post on how they all compare to each other…I guess that means i’ll have to eat more Indian food…poor me 🙂

One thought on “Indian Food in Korea Part 2 (Sinchon)

Leave a Reply

