Devil’s Door: Gangnam Brewery

I guess I should start off by saying I’m not that knowledgeable with beer. I only really enjoy drinking light beers or even fruit beers (are fruit beers really beer…whenever I drink them I always think of it as a dessert). My favorite beers are: almost all Korean beer since it is so light, grapefruit beer (found at Korean bars…not sure about in the States, consists of either grapefruit juice or concentrate added to a light beer), Dos Equis Lager and Framboise (rasberry beer). Now that you know I basically know nothing about beer, here are my thoughts on Devil’s Door, a brewery and restaurant in Gangnam.

Devil's Door is a large restaurant by Korea standards

Devil’s Door is a large restaurant by Korea standards

Walking in to the restaurant

Walking in to the restaurant

Walking into Devil’s Door was kind of a strange experience. Josh and I were joined on this dinner by our Korean friend Eunji and a friend from Cali, Daniel. Eunji loved Devil’s Door, the rest of us felt like we were in a restaurant/brewery back home, which wasn’t an unpleasant experience- it was just a little strange to forget we were in Korea.

Interior of the restaurant during the day. We went on a Saturday around 5 pm and had no problem getting a table even though the restaurant was pretty full

Interior of the restaurant during the day. We went on a Saturday around 5 pm and had no problem getting a table even though the restaurant was pretty full.

At night when we left the restaurant had quite a long line, if you are hungry I would recommend making it a lunch/early dinner trip

At night when we left the restaurant had quite a long line, if you are hungry I would recommend making it a lunch/early dinner trip

View of the bar and behind the glass you can see the large

View of the bar and behind the glass you can see the large beer barrels

The brewery offers a few selections of beer (mostly the ones they make themselves) and we drank the Pale Ale (I don’t typically like Pale Ales but I found this one to be non-offensive), Lager (two thumbs up from someone who likes lagers) and the Stout (I found this easier to drink than Guinness…but I’m not a good judge of these things). Overall I found the beer to be pretty decent, I have only been to one other brewery in Korea and it was horrible so Devil’s Door was definitely a step up. The pricing of the beer was comparable to imported beer pricing in Korea, which will run you around ₩10,000 (about $10). I find these prices to be about what you pay in the States for beer. However, in Korea the domestic beer is super cheap (usually less than ₩5,000/$5) which is a great deal if you enjoy Korean beer. Josh and I really enjoy Korean beer but I know that many of our friends prefer stronger beers and would enjoy the selection this brewery has to offer.

Beer Menu...you can get four sizes of beer as seen on the right side of the menu

Beer Menu…you can get four sizes of beer as seen on the right side of the menu

Cheers!

Cheers!

Now…on to the food! The restaurant offers quite an array of what I would call high end American bar food. You can get fried chicken, hot dogs, cheeseburgers, steaks, pastas and salads along with a variety of sides. We went for the cheeseburger and hot dog.

Cheeseburger at Devil's Door

Cheeseburger at Devil’s Door

The cheeseburger was delicious, for the price (₩13,000/$13) I think it was well worth it. The burger came topped with two types of cheese and caramelized onions. I will say that the shoestring fries that came with the burger were definitely overcooked and no fun to eat. Something I thought was a bit off was the ketchup…I think it was called “Ketchup for Grown Ups” and it was pretty much BBQ sauce. I guess when it comes to ketchup I’m old school and prefer my Heinz.

Hot dog at Devil's Door

Hot dog at Devil’s Door

The Spinach Mac N Cheese Hot Dog was a miss for me. It cost about ₩11,000 ($11) and came with a side of pickled cabbage I wasn’t too impressed with. The hot dog itself was a little spicy and although I was really excited to eat a hot dog topped with mac and cheese the end result wasn’t particularly tasty.

I would say if you find yourself in Gangnam and want to try out a brewery with good cheeseburgers then to stop by Devil’s Door. The beer was good, the cheeseburger was delicious and they seemed to offer other good food items….just stay away from the hot dogs!

2 thoughts on “Devil’s Door: Gangnam Brewery

  1. Jeremy Coker says:

    🙂 It looks like they were in a rush and threw the fries at the plate at the last second. 🙂 “Oh crap, you forgot the fries! Here… catch!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

