Back at the Hair Salon…this time for bigger changes!

<<Update: I have since found a great hair salon in Korea that does a great job with foreign hair, it’s called Hair and Joy and is in Hongdae (Seoul)….you can check out my experience here>>

This past Friday while on the subway in Seoul I noticed a girl with particularly amazing hair. It was just a straight bob but her hair was such an interesting color of light brown and ash that I pretty much stared at her. And shortly after I decided that I wanted to dye my own hair that same color.

Some background info on my hair…

I have dark brown hair with strong red undertones. Only twice in my life have I ever chemically changed the color and both times were to add highlights. Both times also yielded horrible (and orange) results. Since I have a unique hair color that many people like anyways I decided not to try any further color changes. It has been about 10 years since my hair has been colored and I don’t know how else to explain it but the time was right. Maybe I was influenced by all the Koreans I see on the weekends rocking pretty much every color imaginable.

With Eunji’s help I booked an appointment at Soonsiki Salon in Hong Dae. The salon was pretty nice, as with all salons here in Korea you are offered beverages and small snacks. Service in Korean salons is amazing, even in higher end American salons I don’t get such great service. After 20 minutes of discussion I decided to go with a lighter ash brown color. Since my hair is so dark I was unable to get the color as light as I wanted to without bleaching it. And since I have limited experience when it comes to dying my hair the thought of bleaching it just scared me. After being reassured countless times that my hair would NOT turn orange I went in…my hair turned out slightly orange.

A pic I took after my last hair cut in December and then right after getting it dyed on Saturday...sure the lighting is different but you can easily see the color difference

A pic I took after my last hair cut in December and then right after getting it dyed on Saturday…sure the lighting is different but you can easily see the color difference

Getting my hair dyed...take note of the ear covers

Getting my hair dyed…take note of the ear covers

Josh patiently waiting...I guess it helps that he had an Americano and lemonade along with some small snacks

Josh patiently waiting…I guess it helps that he had an Americano and lemonade along with some small snacks

The results were nice…even if they were slightly orange! I’m not complaining I think the results are good and I am overall happy. I will say that in a month or two I am going to go in and go all the way and just bleach my hair into the exact color I want. So stay tuned for that! My feeling on the results are that it was a good stepping stone to really get my mind used to having my hair being so much lighter. I don’t know why but I really thought as soon as I lightened my hair my skin color would look strange against it but really it looks fine.

So...what do you think? Can you even tell much of a difference?

So…what do you think? Can you even tell much of a difference?

My hair stylist for the day, he was super nice!

My hair stylist for the day, he was super nice!

 

8 thoughts on “Back at the Hair Salon…this time for bigger changes!

  1. Jeremy Coker says:

    Dang! You’re really thinking of using bleach next time? Looks good right now. Big change, though, since I’ve only seen it as the natural dark brown. 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

  2. thesockmonkeyproject says:

    Haha, I’ve been thinking about it and doing a bit more research on it and my mind keeps changing on the bleach….it’s just so final and will probably kill my hair. But, still not ruling it out the next time I’m in the swivel chair at the salon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

