The Real BEST Burgers in Korea!

I am now certain that Josh and I have found the best burgers in Korea! I will however only say this with 99% certainty just so that I can leave my mind open to be blown away by an even better burger in the future.

Just look at that...the meat is so hot that the tomato basically dissolves into it! And extra crispy bacon on top!

Just look at that…the meat is so hot that the tomato basically dissolves into it! And extra crispy bacon on top!

Anyways, a while back we attended a burger/bar collaboration between The Standard (one of our favorite bars in Haeundae) and Burger in New York. The burgers were delicious and really simple: soft bread that was grilled so it couldĀ maintain burger juices, cheese and really great meat. At the time we thought the burger were pretty epic, but I really do like to have more toppings on my burger so I didn’t consider it the best.

Fast forward to a few months in the future when we visited the brick and mortar Burger in New York….Josh got the bacon cheeseburger and I got the chicken burger which came with pesto….not expecting much since we took it to go and at it later at the Haeundae apartment. And our minds were blown, my chicken burger was fantastic and Josh said that his was the best burger he had in Korea.

Here it is...located on some random empty street in Korea...the home to the BEST burgers in Korea

Here it is…located on some random empty street in Korea…the home to the BEST burgers in Korea

The interior of Burger in New York, kind of smoky because they use a wood stove to heat the place in winter (which reminds me of campfires!!)

The interior of Burger in New York, kind of smoky because they use a wood stove to heat the place in winter (which reminds me of campfires!!)

The wood stove that keeps the restaurant warm

The wood stove that keeps the restaurant warm

So, this past weekend we found ourselves back in Busan (taking a break from Seoul) and we had to go and enjoy a delicious burger at Burger in New York. It is a hole in the wall kind of a joint, a couple tables (most of which are empty) and the owner/chef cooking up all the food super fresh on the grill. Normally I cannot eat too much red meat (or else I get sick) but I decided I would go all in and eat the bacon cheeseburger. And it was glorious….Josh even ate his with ALL the toppings (which if you know how Josh is with his “plain” burgers you will know this is a miracle!). As if this was not enough as soon as we were done eating our burgers and fries the owner brought us a second round of cheeseburgers, on the house! I have to say having a cheeseburger for dessert after a feast of cheeseburger was new to me, but completely enjoyable.

Here it is....2 bacon cheeseburgers, 2 orders of fries, endless ketchup, apple juice (Josh is soda free) and a coke!!! Dinner of champions!

Here it is….2 bacon cheeseburgers, 2 orders of fries, endless ketchup, apple juice (Josh is soda free) and a coke!!! Dinner of champions!

And for dessert....FREE CHEESEBURGERS!!!! A truly gluttonous and epic way to end an already overindulgent meal!

And for dessert….FREE CHEESEBURGERS!!!! A truly gluttonous and epic way to end an already overindulgent meal!

I think what Josh and I love about Burger in New York is the delicious and generous portions of well seasoned beef. The beef they use is high quality and seasoned perfectly. Then, the chef knows how to cook it perfectly so that it is cooked all the way through and still juicy! Don’t know how he does it but all I know is that this HAS to be the best burger in Korea…but I’m keeping my mind and taste buds open for challengers.

2 thoughts on “The Real BEST Burgers in Korea!

Leave a Reply

