Let’s Explore Ulsan…

Quite a while ago Josh and I traveled to Ulsan for the day. Ulsan is the seventh largest city in Korea but as a city it is the wealthiest. I was surprised to hear this since I figured Gangnam is renowned for being where all the super rich Koreans live. But, Gangnam is a district of Seoul so when you factor the whole city Ulsan ends up being the most well off.

Anyways, our time in Ulsan was rather short we mainly went to eat at a friend’s Chinese restaurant. AND it was delicious…and we ate too much food. I would like to go to China eventually if not to just try the food and see if it differs from the Korean made Chinese food I have come to know both back home in California and here in Korea. We ordered: seafood soup, seafood rice, jajang myeon (black noodles…the kind Psy eats in his music video for Hangover) and Josh ordered sweet and sour chicken. Despite ordering enough food for 6 people when there were only 3¬†of us eating we managed to eat most of the food.

Chinese Food in Korea....scrumptious!

Chinese Food in Korea….scrumptious!

After our delicious meal we ventured to the large Ferris Wheel on top of the Lotte Department store, and man was that a mistake. I seem to have had temporary memory loss and forgot that I HATE ferris wheels…. I like them in theory but I have completed a ferris wheel ride and thought that I made the right decision, I always end thinking¬†never again….

Lotte Department Store Ferris Wheel

Lotte Department Store Ferris Wheel

Ignorance is bliss

Ignorance is bliss

This particular ferris wheel ride was horrific for many reasons. To begin with we went at night when it was dark when we emerged onto the roof of “Kiddie Land.” In the darkness on our way to the ferris wheel entrance they were playing REALLY loud Korean children’s songs…which I’m sure in the light of day when you understand the lyrics are fine…but at night in front of a dimly lit ferris wheel it is SOOOOO creepy. Once inside the ferris wheel you soon realize that there is plastic covering over all the windows…so the view outside isn’t very clear and makes you wonder what the point of it all is. And finally the worst part of the ferris wheel…its pace. It was by far the SLOWEST moving ferris wheel of existence.

Yep...if you were in the ferris wheel car with me then you would have heard my shrill screams of fear...such a chicken

Yep…if you were in the ferris wheel car with me then you would have heard my shrill screams of fear…such a chicken

Josh took this picture from the top

Josh took this picture from the top

Leave a Reply

