Night 1 in Japan….Osaka

After arriving in Japan around 5:30 pm we were looking lost at the exit of the subway when luckily an English speaking girl found us and guided us to our destination for the night….the Hotel Diamond. Now, despite the ritzy name, the Hotel Diamond was a dump…it was a what I imagine a hostel would be like if it had private rooms. The room Josh and I shared was basically a closet with large pads and blankets, a small refrigerator and a fan….luckily we made the wise decision to fork out the extra Yen for the air conditioning floor because Japan in August is nasty…. Being born and raised in Southern California did not prepare me for Β the humidity and heat….I didn’t know I was capable of sweating that much. But, I digress, back to our first night in Japan….funnily enough our first meal was at a Japanese “Korean” restaurant. I ordered the bibimbap…..and well it wasn’t bibimbap….it didn’t even come with the sauce that makes bibimbap bibimbap!

Needless to say our first night in Japan was not the best….but it did get better πŸ™‚

The Hotel Diamond....the hallways were tiny and dangerous...when walking down them you could be hit with a door opening at any moment...

The Hotel Diamond….the hallways were tiny and dangerous…when walking down them you could be hit with a door opening at any moment…

Our room at the Hotel DIamond

Our room at the Hotel Diamond

This is where Josh and I slept for the night....as you might imagine, it was a long night....

This is where Josh and I slept for the night….as you might imagine, it was a long night….

Here is the menu at the "Korean" restaurant

Here is the menu at the “Korean” restaurant

The look on my face says it all....the food was no good.

The look on my face says it all….the food was no good.

 

7 thoughts on “Night 1 in Japan….Osaka

  1. Jeremy Coker says:

    πŸ™‚ I KNOW you guys had to joke about your room being bigger than my old apartment. πŸ™‚ P.S. Glad you are ok from your bites. I’d be freaked out about taking medication in a another country myself. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • thesockmonkeyproject says:

      Haha good one! Honestly that night all we could think about was I hope someone doesn’t murder us for our kidneys. And the bug bites were really scary….but when I gave myself a huge scratch because I was itching my leg in my sleep I knew I had to just take the pills and hope for the best. Tell the little one we miss her!

      Like

      • Jeremy Coker says:

        Oh crap! Is that something you have to worry about where you were? Creepy!

        I’ll let her know! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

        Like

      • thesockmonkeyproject says:

        I don’t think the area we were was particularly dangerous, but it was old and kind of creepy. I think Japan overall is pretty safe for tourists as long as you aren’t out doing shady things in the really bad neighborhoods!

        Like

  2. Matt Tran says:

    Glad you guys are having a wonderful time there! Looks like a lot of fun! Keep up with this blog because I DO FOLLOW IT!! πŸ™‚

    Matt

    Like

Leave a Reply

