Memorial Weekend in Busan: Day 3

IF YOU WAKE ME WITH PIZZA THEN I WON’T BITE…I PROMISE

So as I mentioned in the previous post, waking up Sunday morning was particularly difficult since I was having some kind of reaction to the Korean allergy medication I took the night before (even Benadryl in the States makes me pretty drowsy so its not that surprising). However, Josh and our friend went down and picked up some Doh-minh-oes aka Dominoes pizza and that woke me up pretty quickly! The Dominoes in Korea came with 2 small cups of sliced pickles and packets of chili sauce and garlic sauce. They ordered a thin crust and my portion was cheese and it was pretty good! Josh and I sometimes order Dominoes in the States and I don’t think we have ever ordered the think crust but I really enjoyed it as it wasn’t overly greasy.

View from our friend's apartment

View from our friend’s apartment

View of Busan

View of Busan

High rise view

High rise view

DOWNTOWN SHOPPING

After the pizza brunch we went to the Downtown area to do some shopping! I bought some clothes for a pretty decent price and then bought a “kebab” off a small market stall. The kebab really was some kind of chicken wrap and it was pretty meh. After the eating and shopping we got really tired and headed back to Changnyeong.

Stuffs I bought in Busan...if you look close enough you will be rewarded with the sight of Psy socks!

Stuffs I bought in Busan…if you look close enough you will be rewarded with the sight of Psy socks! The white tofu looking stuff is ho bakk yutt which is Korean traditional pumpkin candy

REDEEMING MYSELF WITH LEGIT KIMBOP

Since my first attempt at kimbop was a miserable fail I decided that Sunday I would redeem myself! I had previously skyped with my mother to translate the entire Il Ban Gee  menu so that the next time I visited it would be a success. Before getting a taxi back to our apartment (we live about 10 minutes by car from downtown Changnyeong where the bus terminal is) we wandered around until we found Il Ban Gee…only to find that it was closed! You can imagine how upset I was until 2 minutes later 2 stores down we found another kimbop restaurant! This time I ordered like a boss and got my cheese-less kimbop! And it was even cheaper than at Il Ban Gee! After getting the kimbop we took a taxi back to the apartments and called it a weekend.

Oh yeah!!! Finally, kimbop! For 2 it cost me around $3

Oh yeah!!! Finally, kimbop! For 2 it cost me around $3

And that ladies and gentlemen is what kimbop SHOULD look like :)

And that ladies and gentlemen is what kimbop SHOULD look like 🙂

Leave a Reply

