Memorial Weekend in Busan: Day 2 TRICKEYE MUSEUM

Our late morning on Day 2 of Busan started with lunch at McDonalds (yes we eat entirely too much McDonalds, hopefully this will change soon but its easy when you’re with picky eaters..aka Josh) and I had the Shanghai Chicken Sandwich which was just like any other chicken sandwich in the States…too much mayo. After that we stopped by Hottracks (which sells stationary and art supply stuffs) where I got a couple items for our upcoming Summer Intensive (summer school). Then we took the subway to the Trickeye Museum.

TRICKEYE MUSEUM…GET READY FOR SOME CRAZY PICTURES!

The Trickeye Museum is a pretty large museum with interactive exhibits designed to trick the eye…there were over 30 different exhibits and towards the end I was really over posing for the camera but we made it through and the pictures were fantastic! The entire premise behind the Trickeye Museum is taking pictures so if you are planning a visit I suggest you bring an extra camera battery and make sure you are photo ready…we ended up taking over 250 pictures! There is another Trickeye museum in Seoul which I would like to eventually visit since the exhibits are different (I think) and you can buy double tickets to enter the Trickeye museum and the ice museum.

**Special side note to diligent readers…a few posts back on our first trip to Daegu I mentioned something about a certain t-shirt I was really mad I didn’t buy…my awesome coworker Amanda remedied that mistake when she went in to Daegu last week. We originally intended to wear our ridiculous shirts out clubbing but since we were too tired to go clubbing the night before we thought it was only right to wear the shirts when we would be taking a ridiculous amount of photos…enjoy!

Starry Whitney

Starry Whitney

I wonder where these stairs go...

I wonder where these stairs go…

AAAAAH my head!

AAAAAH my head!

So strong!

So strong!

Gimme that paint brush

Gimme that paint brush

Ha ha ha...

Ha ha ha…

The grumpiest butterfly you'll ever meet

The grumpiest butterfly you’ll ever meet

Handstands, HA I do pinky stands!

Handstands, HA I do finger stands!

Hey guys, what's hanging?

Hey guys, what’s hanging?

Oh yes, I just hang out here for fun sometimes...

Oh yes, I just hang out here for fun sometimes…

HAHAHAHAAA

HAHAHAHAAA

ohmmmm...mmmm...

ohmmmm…mmmm…

Just a couple of angels hanging out

Just a couple of angels hanging out

Oh yeah...

Oh yeah…

Check out our cool fros!

Check out our cool fros!

Sup!

Sup!

You can eat me...but it will cost you an eye!

You can eat me…but it will cost you an eye!

Hanging with my panda peep

Hanging with my panda peep

Yeah you could say we're good at barrel walking

Yeah you could say we’re good at barrel walking

Kung fu master

Kung fu master

Why yes sir, I will take this giant sushi

Why yes sir, I will take this giant sushi

AHAHAHAAA

AHAHAHAAA

Get me out of here!

Get me out of here!

SHOPPING AND GETTING LOST IN BUSAN

After a break at Starbucks we stopped by a shop called Art Box (they sell stationary, cosmetics and home goods) and then wandered around all the small stores and street stalls in the area to look at the various small goods being sold and the street food (so far Josh and I have not been brave enough to try the street food, but I know I will soon!).

MEXICAN FOOD IN KOREA?

After our late afternoon wander around a Downtown Area (apparently Busan is so large there are many downtowns) we met up with a Korean friend and she took us to a restaurant that served Mexican Food! The menu also had Italian food and Spanish food, but once I saw enchiladas on the menu I knew I had to order it just to see if it was possible to get an enchilada in Korea. The enchiladas were very interesting and not bad! To start off, the presentation was quite different-it was served in a baking dish which reminded me of a singe serving of shepherd’s pie: there were refried beans on the bottom of the dish, enchiladas on top of the beans (the enchiladas come filled with cheese, onions, jalapenos and tomatoes-we asked for no onions and jalapenos and SHOULD have asked for no tomatoes) and then the whole thing is covered in sauce and cheese and then baked. Taste-wise the flavor was not completely off, it was reminiscent of microwaveable enchiladas my mom used to buy from Trader Joe’s. Overall I think since Josh and I were expecting the food to be horrible we ended up being surprised and content with our first restaurant Mexican food experience in Korea.

Side note: Out of desperation 2 weeks ago I ordered a bag of crazy over-priced dried pinto beans online so in the future I am going to attempt (key word: attempt) to make refried beans.

Menu at the Mexican/Italian/Spanish restaurant

Menu at the Mexican/Italian/Spanish restaurant

Behold: Cherry coke and cheese enchiladas!

Behold: Cherry coke and cheese enchiladas!

LATE NIGHT IN BUSAN

After dinner we grabbed some drinks at the GS25 (7 Eleven) and then sat and watched some live music and a proposal near a stream. We then hung out at a cool little Korean bar before deciding to try out a foreigner bar in the area. On our way to the foreigner bar I bought some cotton candy from a street vendor who I think gave me extra because I’m foreign (haha jokes on you cotton candy lady, I’m really one half foreign!). The foreigner bar we went to was Canadian I assume (the name had something to do with a moose) and was generally unappealing. But the bartender girls were very nice (one was even from Changnyeong!) and there were darts and beer so we were entertained for a while.

Korean Bar

Korean Bar

So when you eat stinky fried shrimp you can do it with finger gloves!

I guess since the fried shrimp are stinky they give you these funny little gloves that only cover your thumb and index finger

How to get a bartender's attention

How to get a bartender’s attention

Cotton candy in Korea

Waiting for my cotton candy

Cotton candy umbrella

Cotton candy umbrella

Foreigner bar...kinda lame

Foreigner bar…I think the look on my face says it all

TIME TO HIT THE HAY

After the foreigner bar we stopped by McDonalds to grab some greasy food before falling asleep. One of our Korean friends ate some kimbop from a street vendor that only cost about 50 cents that I wish I tried it but alas my stomach was asleep by then. When we got to our friends apartment I slept particularly well that night since the apartment we were crashing at has cats and the Korean allergy medication I took knocked me out.

3 thoughts on “Memorial Weekend in Busan: Day 2 TRICKEYE MUSEUM

Leave a Reply

