HI FRIENDS AND FAMILY :)

HELLO EVERYONE!

Sorry I took so long to get everything up and running, I guess you could say I’ve been a little busy these last two weeks. Luckily Josh and I arrived safe and sound and most of the last 2 weeks has been spent battling jet-lag, cleaning and arranging our new apartment and overall getting acquainted with our new country of residence. There will definitely be more details to come on our adventure so far as we have managed to have quite a bit of fun already. I just wanted to get this blog up and running and apologize once again for the delay. I guess taking that last minute trip to Seattle probably wasn’t the smartest idea when we were about to move overseas but I wouldn’t take it back as it was amazing.

So where to begin….I guess it would make sense to start at the beginning…

JOURNEY TO KOREA

Our journey here was quite an ordeal as you can imagine. The entire process consisted of:

  • 13 hour flight from LAX to Incheon Airport in Seoul
  • Getting luggage, passing through customs and immigration and converting our dollars into won at Incheon
  • Taking the subway from Incheon Airport to Gimpo Airport (also in Seoul) which was about a 45 minute ride
  • 1 hour flight from Gimpo Airport to Busan Airport
  • 1 hour taxi ride from Busan Airport to our new home in Changnyeong, South Korea

Needless to say by the time we arrived I was dazed, confused and really in no state to communicate with another intelligent being…..BUT, our new “CEV family” gave us quite the welcome and helped carry over 200 pounds of luggage up 2 flights of stairs to our apartment. They were all so happy and nice I felt at ease immediately and Josh and I passed out. I guess I will go into further detail about the flights and overall experience on all the travel details but right now I just wanted to finally get started with posting something. I think the next couple blogs will be focused on the travel to get here, our first couple weekends (2 weekends in Korea and we already managed to have quite a good time), what the teaching experience has been like so far (sneak preview…AWESOME!!) and of course pictures of our apartment. I guess a main reason I have put off posting is we have been doing a lot of cleaning and organizing of the apartment before it is up to the standards of being shown on the interweb! Not to say the apartment wasn’t clean when we arrived but if you know how Josh and I are, then you should know we tend to be clean freaks (well I’ll be honest this is mostly Josh’s doing but after 7 years it has rubbed off on me).

I’m just happy that we have arrived, our new home is almost put together and our first week of teaching was a success.

Miss you all and I promise I will post soon!!!!

-Whitney

This is the building where all the teachers who work at the school live. We live on the top right.

This is the building where all the teachers who work at the school live. We live on the top right.

Did I mention our apartment was on the third floor?

Did I mention our apartment was on the third floor?

Our new CEV family knew we'd be hungry and stocked us up on some food.

Our new CEV family knew we’d be hungry and stocked us up on some food.

Leave a Reply

